• White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

The Chronicle Newspaper LLC

2843 E Grand River Ave, East Lansing, MI 48823 |  Tel: 1-800-717-6390


Local Contact:  Jay Price (517) 894-4747   or   John Issac Benjamin (517)  703-7518

The Chronicle Newspaper LLC. Copyright ©2017. All Rights Reserved

The Chronicle News'


3rd Annual Hometown Heroes Community Awards Ceremony

“Honoring Hometown Heroes”


Saturday, May 19th at 6:00 P.M.

The Lansing Center

333 E. Michigan Avenue Lansing, MI 48933


The Chronicle News celebrates 32 years of service and honors those who have made significant contributions to the growth and development of Greater Lansing. Our goal is to raise scholarship funds for future Journalists of Integrity. The program itself will consist of a networking reception, dinner, live entertainment, raffle, community awards ceremony, and more.












Event Speakers/Special Guests include: 


Award Recipients
Minister Sallie and Rev Dr. Melvin Jones-Humanitarian Award
Dr. Nino Rodriguez-Educational Excellence Award
Gregory Eaton-Business and Entrepreneurship Award-
Martha Duncan Miles-Public Service and Civic Leadership Award-

Confirmed Special Guests

Keynote Speaker-Dr. Maxine Hankins Cane

Rev. Dr. Kay Porter-Pastor St. Matthew
Lansing City Councilman-Mr Peter Spadafore



A special thank you to everyone who joined us for a glorious celebration! Please watch a commemorable video put together by our friend Video By Theo.























Live Music by Henry Walker and the Cool Breeze Band


To purchase tickets please visit 

or call 800-717-6390



Minister Sallie and Rev Melvin Jones
Humanitarian Award Recipiants
Dr Nino Rodriguez
Educational Excellence Award
Maxine Hankins Caine
Keynote Speaker
Gregory Eaton
Business and Entrepreneurship Award
Martha Miles
Public Service and Civic Leadership Award
Show More


Educational Excellence Award
Rev. Dr. Clyde Carnegie-2016

Dr David L. Henderson-2016

Mr. Cordell Henderson-2016

Ms. Shirley Rogers-2017

Broadcasting Pioneers Award

Chayo Cervantes-2016

Michael McFadden-2016

Rob-roy Nelson-2016

Timothy Jackson-2016

Tony Cervantes-2016

Dexter Chandler-2016

Philanthropy Award

Ms. Joan Jackson-Johnson 2017

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon